I never thought I would say this, but the photo copier breaking down mid way through the second day of a new school year was a blessing in disguise. My goal is to use less paper and my student iPads more. I want to do as much writing on the iPad with my students as I can. I want them to become comfortable using a stylus pen and annotating PDF’s. I want to go digital with my reading portfolios. The broken copier gave me the push I needed to get started. In a matter of minutes this morning I had this week’s poem uploaded onto each iPad. We talked about how to handle the device properly. We practiced holding the stylus pens. We took turns zooming in, zooming out, erasing, changing pen color, and finally writing. It was a blast. It’s going to be a great year!

20120906-132353.jpg

20120906-132555.jpg

